Program - Black and Gold Convocation

Monday, August 21, 2017, 10:00am
Holmes Convocation Center

Mr. J.J. Brown, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs


Processional "Procession of the Scholars"
Appalachian Pep Band
Mr. Kevin Richardson, Conductor


William G. Harbinson



Mr. J.J. Brown 
Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs

"The Star-Spangled Banner"
Appalachian Pep Band


Francis Scott Key



Dr. Sheri N. Everts

Academic Welcome


Dr. Darrell P. Kruger
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

Introduction of Harvey R. Durham Award Recipient


Dr. Darrell P. Kruger

Student Government Association Welcome


Ms. Anderson Clayton
President, Student Government Association

ASPIRE and Pinning


 Ms. Anderson Clayton

Alma Mater


Higher Ground Acapella

Introduction of Keynote Speaker


Dr. Martha McCaughey
Director of the Common Reading Program

Convocation Address


Dr. Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
Author and Professor of Writing, University of Houston

Class of 2017 Alumni Remarks


Mr. Jonathan Maudlin

Closing Remarks


Mr. J.J. Brown 

"Marche Vaillant"
Appalachian Pep Band


 Paul Koepke